Cruze 1-2-3


cruze 123

Following the team’s 1-2 in Race 1, Chevrolet Cruze cars took all three of the podium places in Race 2 with the reigning WTCC Drivers’ Champion Yvan Muller securing his second win from as many races. 

New for 2012, the starting grid for Race 2 was a reversal of the top 10 from the Q2 session and so it was the BMW 320 TC of Norbert Michelisz that started from pole position. It wasn’t until lap 7 that the lead changed hands, with Michelisz’s challenge fading to eventually leave him in eighth place at the chequered flag. 

Any hope of another podium finish for Gabriele Tarquini in the Lukoil Racing Team SEAT León ended at the first corner of lap 2, when a four-car clash saw Robert Huff send Muller straight on at the chicane and Tarquini - the only casualty - parked up.

The fight amongst the Yokohama Trophy competitors was just as keen with Michelisz, Alex MacDowall, Stefano D’Aste and Franz Engstler scrapping throughout the race. In the end, it was the Wiechers-Sport BMW 320 of D’Aste that took maximum points, with Engstler’s BMW and the Chevrolet Cruze of MacDowall both finishing within a second or so of D’Aste.

Key moments

Start - Michelisz is first into the chicane; Rydell takes a bad start

Lap 1 - Menu has contact with D’Aste

Lap 2 - Huff hits Muller; the three Chevrolets and Tarquini spin at the first chicane

Lap 2 - Tarquini retires following the incident

Lap 4 - D’Aste passes MacDowall for third at the first chicane.

Lap 4 - Muller, Menu and Huff overtake MacDowall

Lap 4 - Muller overtakes D’Aste to take third

Lap 5 - Menu overtakes D’Aste to take fourth

Lap 6 - Muller passes Coronel to take second

Lap 7 - Coronel re-takes second place from Muller at the chicane

Lap 7 - Menu makes contact with Muller at the second chicane

Lap 7 - Muller re-takes second place from Coronel, then passes Michelisz for the lead

Lap 7 - Michelisz drops back, being passed by Menu, Coronel and Huff

Lap 8 - MacDowall makes contact with Michelisz and drops two places

Lap 9 - Huff passes Coronel to take third place


A. Dudukalo: DNS; C. Ng: race incident; G. Tarquini: race incident.

© ÓrbitanewsSport 2011